RSS

ITS A FUNNY THING: ROADBLOCKS

29 Mar

It’s a funny thing; I woke up around 3:30am this morning. Just sitting and listening to the quite of the house. God was speaking to me about something that I needed to change. Change sometimes is the hardest thing that someone can do. I believe sometimes that change can cause us pain. I’m not talking bodily pain (even though our flesh may not like it). I’m talking about the kind of pain that we have to experience in eating our words or even maybe changing our views. One of my pastors last night spoke on love. Her title was Moving Forward: The Missing Ingredients.

Have you ever been at a point in your life that something or something’s were blocking you from growing or moving forward? I found myself there a couple of times. I’ve had to get on my face before God and ask him what I needed to do, who I needed to forgive, or even who I needed to ask for forgiveness. That’s the painful part, finding yourself walking in unforgiveness. I believe this can be one of the biggest road blocks that can hold us back. We all know the scripture says to forgive because our God forgives us. Sure sometimes it not easy. I believe that forgiveness is an action. The problem begins when we think that forgiveness is connected to our emotions. So we say I don’t feel like forgiving that person right now. Or I’m not ready to forgive yet. I had to walk in forgiveness for many years to forgive someone who was abusive in my past. Was it easy, no, It’s never easy (like I said change can be painful). But once the heart became a part of what God was trying to change in my life forgiveness began to happen. I know sometimes it can take years, but aren’t we glad that God’s forgiveness doesn’t take years.

Mark 11:25-26 (AMP) And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him and let it drop (leave it, let it go), in order that your Father Who is in heaven may also forgive you your [own] failings and shortcomings and let them drop.  But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your failings and shortcomings.

We need to give people the grace to change, and we need to have the mercy to forgive. (I loved that statement made by one of my pastors.)

Carrying around a grudge (a feeling of ill will or resentment) is like carrying around a ball of chains around your OWN leg. (It’s like you are imprisoned in your own thoughts. That is all you think and talk about, what that person did or didn’t do.)

For example: If someone said or did something to you or maybe didn’t do something you expected. You become anger and decided to walk in unforgiveness. That person goes on with their life, maybe not even knowing that they offended you, or maybe they do and asked for your forgiveness already, but you continue to hold on to unforgiveness. The best way to get that ball of chains off your leg is by walking in forgiveness. Make up your mind that you are going to forgive no matter what.

Sometimes we just need to get on our face before God and cry out to him. I NEED HELP.

Philippians 1:9-12 (AMP)
9 And this I pray: that your love may abound yet more and more and extend to its fullest development in knowledge and all keen insight [that your love may display itself in greater depth of acquaintance and more comprehensive discernment],
10 So that you may surely learn to sense what is vital, and approve and prize what is excellent and of real value [recognizing the highest and the best, and distinguishing the moral differences], and that you may be untainted and pure and unerring and blameless [so that with hearts sincere and certain and unsullied, you may approach] the day of Christ [not stumbling nor causing others to stumble].
11 May you abound in and be filled with the fruits of righteousness (of right standing with God and right doing) which come through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One), to the honor and praise of God [that His glory may be both manifested and recognized].
12 Now I want you to know and continue to rest assured, brethren, that what [has happened] to me [this imprisonment] has actually only served to advance and give a renewed impetus to the [spreading of the] good news (the Gospel).

I am not a therapist, psychologist or psychiatrist. My training has been in me becoming a life coach and counselor. The primary difference in my training and approach from these other professions is that my focus is on the present and the future rather than the past. My intention is to help you create the life you want by understanding your life now as opposed to diving into your past. This is not to say that I don’t talk at all about the past, rather that it isn’t the primary focus.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Change, Roadblocks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
