RSS

ROADBLOCK: Rejection

01 Apr

Please forgive me, its kind of long, but please read it all.

How about the roadblock of rejection, when I woke up this morning, God said to talk about being rejected and what it does to a person’s relationship with God or even others. I know this on a personal basis because I was rejected (I know how it affected my life and relationship with others).

Rejection can become a roadblock with your relationships whether it is with God or others. I know with me, I didn’t trust people easily. Everyone was the enemy until that person could prove to me they can be trusted. I know I had one friend that took over three years before I truly let her become friends with me. I’ll be nice to people, but to truly be friends with me wasn’t an easy road to walk.

You see I was the same way with God. I felt like God had to prove himself to me, Wait he is the creator of me. Yea, I know, but this is what rejection did to me. Rejection makes you not trust anyone, not even your creator. After being rejected by my earthly father (the sperm donor) it affected the way I viewed things. I had a hard time trusting anyone, even God. Why, I knew God loved me, I knew that God would do anything for me if I asked. That didn’t matter to me. I went to church just about my whole life; I had a relationship with God, but at arm’s length. I really didn’t trust him.

About five years ago, I believe God begin to work with me on my rejection roadblock. He knew that I needed to grow more in him, but this roadblock was holding my back. I don’t think it was stopping my relationship with God, but I think it was at a standstill. I prayed and asked God to help me with this roadblock; it was a deep rooted issue.

You see the enemy knows what he is doing when he has your earthly father reject his children. It starts with a seed that is planted by them, then it grows when it is watered by, I wish you weren’t born, or by every hit or punch you receive, by every passing birthday and you receive not even a card or a birthday call, by not even being recognized that you exist. Then that seed grows to such a point that it is painful to see or speak to that person.

This is how I handled my roadblock. I asked God to forgive me for unforgiveness. Then I forgave my dad, (at first it took a little bit to set in, but forgiveness isn’t an emotion it’s an action). Then I begin praying this scripture into my life: Hebrews 13:5b-6 (AMP) for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]
So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say, The Lord is my Helper; I will not be seized with alarm [I will not fear or dread or be terrified]. What can man do to me?

When my dad died this pass January, Rejection tried to show his ugly head again with me. Because even unto his death he rejected my brother and I by not even recognizing us in his will. It was as though we didn’t exist. But after days of crying and praying, I got a tap on my shoulder by my father in heaven, GOD, who reminded me of that scripture in Hebrew that he would never leave or forsake me.

If this story sounds like you, please know that God loves you with all that is within you. Just get that roadblock moved by using the word of God.

I am not a therapist, psychologist or psychiatrist. My training has been in me becoming a life coach and counselor. The primary difference in my training and approach from these other professions is that my focus is on the present and the future rather than the past. My intention is to help you create the life you want by understanding your life now as opposed to diving into your past. This is not to say that I don’t talk at all about the past, rather that it isn’t the primary focus.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2012 in Roadblocks

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “ROADBLOCK: Rejection

  1. Rich Kenney

    April 1, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Learning to forgive is so hard but you seem to have gotten over that hurdle. You have written a very heartfelt post. Thanks for the Sunday morning reflection. My dad also passed away (last month). Your story hit home.

     

Leave a Reply

 
